Benefit Watt’s Up vs TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer (with swatches)

Versiunea în limba română a acestui articol o găsiți aici.

And welcome to a comparison between two of the highlighters everybody’s talking about on YouTube and beauty blogosphere . For a long time I wandered what’s the difference between them, but for the past month I’ve been lucky enough to put them both to the test.

If you’re anything like me, I bet you’ll love this article 🙂

benefit watt's up

Benefit watt’s up! cream highlighter

What they say:

“Our soft focus highlighter turns on “watt” ya got with a delicate champagne glow that’s gorgeous. The cream-to-powder finish is a switch-on “wow” for all complexions. You’ll adore the smooth applicator.

  • Luminous sheen
  • Soft-focus look
  • Apply solo or over makeup”

What I say:

  • I obviously don’t have the full size, so I can’t say anything about the bottom applicator. I usually apply it straight from the “bullet” and then go over with my finger to blend it in. I feel this way it works the best for me
  • it is indeed a cream-to-powder finish and it last very well on the skin (at least for 10 hours)
  • it’s not powdery at all
  • you have to use a very-very small amount if you want a little glow. But you can build it up for as much of a glow as you want and it won’t look bad on the skin
  • it doesn’t emphasize my pores or my fine lines
  • it works well with my pale skin tone and it think it would work just as well with a medium tone
  • price: $30 on Sephora’s website
  • weigh: 9.4 g Net wt. 0.33 oz.

Conclusion:

I think it’s a great highlighter even if it’s a bit expensive. Because you need a little to get a lot of glow so it will last to a looong time.

In theBalm of Your Hand

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

What they say:

“Meet Mary-Lou Manizer, a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow.”

What I say:

  • I have this in the palette In theBalm of Your Hand. Here the size of the product is much smaller than in the original package but I don’t think you have to worry. I have it since the end of November and I used it a lot every month but I merely made a dent in it
  • you need a very-very little product for a nice, sloft glow and I use a small brush to apply it
  • it’s not powdery at all
  • I think it works best for people that have thier skin a tone darker than mine. I find it a bit too yellow on me. At least for daytime. For nighttime I don’t mind it at all!
  • it doesn’t emphasize my pores or my fine lines
  • I used it as highlighter on my cheecks and as eye shadow (in the inner corner and on the mobile lid) and it works great for both. As eye shadow I don’t mind at all its yellow tone
  • as for staying power, this product won’t move for at least 10 hours
  • a friend of mine had this highlighter in the original packaging but unfortunately she dropped it and it broke pretty badly. Lucky for me she bought another one and gave this one to me  to play with it and see if I like it (one month before I bought it in the palette you can find above). I can honestly say there’s no difference between the original product and the one from this palette
  • price: $24 on theBalm’s website
  • weigh: full size is 8.5 g

Conclusion:

I love this for a night “glam” makeup look. I still use it in the daytime but I have to be very careful not to go overboard.

swatches

Final conclusion:

I love them both and it’s so hard for me to choose which one is better, but for my coloring I would say I like the Benefit one better, especially for daytime. It has more of a peachy tone and I think it suits me better.

For a lot of glow at nighttime I think I slightly prefer the Mary-Lou.

Anyway, I wouldn’t gave up any of them.

Did you try any of these two highlighters? Which one is your favorite?

9 thoughts on “Benefit Watt’s Up vs TheBalm Mary-Lou Manizer (with swatches)

  1. In varianta full size nu l-as lua pe niciunul, dar mini suna foarte bine.. La fel si baleta TheBalm :)) Eventual, poate gasesc un set benefit cu mai multe mini-uri, pentru ca am vazut ca oricum produsele full size nu le termin niciodata

    Liked by 1 person

    • Asa si eu. Momentan ma bucur de produsele mini de la ei. Si sincer, nu stiu sigur cand le voi termina pe multe dintre ele :)))
      Dar ti le recomand cu drag pe ambele. Paleta de la theBalm e awesome daca vrei sa incerci produsele lor si sincer, ma va tine multa vreme. Nu vreau sa-mi imaginez cat te-ar tine pe tine :)))

      Like

  2. Eu le am pe amândouă. Îmi plac foarte mult și într-adevăr este o decizie grea să alegi între ele :)) Mie îmi place mai mult cel de la Benefit, dar am zis că nu cumpăr alte produse până nu le termin pe cele care le am. Așa că am încă 2 ani de The Balm + miniatura Benefit și după aia l-aș cumpăra pe ultimul )
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Multumesc 😀

      Da, si eu cred ca te vor tine inca 2 ani. Eu nu cred ca rezist sa le folosesc doar pe acestea. Cu siguranta voi mai cumpara si altele, cu timpul, desi imi plac foarte mult si teoretic n-as avea motiv sa-mi dau banii pe altceva.

      Liked by 1 person

      • De cel de la elf am auzit si eu. Ei il considera blush, dar toata lumea il foloseste ca iluminator.
        Uuuuu… Becca – neaparat trebuie sa incerc unul de la ei, dar cred ca o sa-mi fie greu sa ma decid care.

        Like

Leave a Reply

