Drugstore Makeup Starter Kit – optional

Versiunea în limba română a acestui articol o găsiți aici.

A while ago I wrote an article about Drugstore Makeup Starter Kit – must haves and I thought that I could extend the “series” including the optional products, in my opinion, in this article. So, if you want to know where can you start with highlighter, eyeliner and so on just keep reading.

IMG_2525

Primer – I didn’t try too many primers from the drugstore but I can talk about one that I have and which I like in some days. I have Catrice Prime and Fine Pore Refining Anti-Shine Base (30 ml) and I can say that I don’t see a difference in the pore refining department but I like putting this primer all over my face to make sure that I won’t be too shiny throughout the day and there are some moments were I feel like I need more hydration on face than my moisturizer is giving me. After that the foundation will go on so smoothly and it will look much better than without the primer. If you need a primer to minimize the pores I heard that Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser is pretty good and I think I’ll buy it soon enough. I’ll keep you updated if I end up doing so.

Foundation – I tried many, but I still don’t have a favorite. If you are fair, like me, and it seems like all drugstore foundations are too dark for you, try Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream in the shade 31 Ivory. It doesn’t have the best staying power but it’s still pretty good for 4-6 hours (depending on your type of skin)

 

IMG_2527

 

Highlither – e.l.f. All Over Color Stick ($1). I have the shade Persimmon #3102 and I really like it. The writing wipes off very quickly, the packaging feels cheap but it doesn’t brake easily and trust me, it fell of my hands a few times so far. The tube is small, it has 4g of product, but it will last you a long time. The product is great because you can use it in the daytime and in the nighttime as well (if you apply it a bit more heavy).

Bronzer – to be honest I don’t own a bronzer (drugstore or high-end). I used to have a powder two shades darker than my natural skin tone and I used that with a light hand. But I don’t think bronzer is really for me, so I always skip that step

 

IMG_2528

Eyeliner – I tried many eyeliners and I think it all comes down to what look you want. For example:

  • for a cateye look: I would recommend you to start with a felt tip eyeliner. I really love the one from Soap & Glory Supercat Carbon Black Extreme Eyeliner Pen (£6.00/ €7.02) – 1.6g because I like the tip, it gives great precision, the formula is pretty black, doesn’t budge for at least 8 hours (but it’s not waterproof formula) and I use micellar water and it removes my eyeliner in a few seconds without pulling my eyelids.
  • for thighline: I wrote an article where I featured this product and I think it’s meant for tightlining and for applying it in the water line. I’m talking about essence gel eye pencil waterproof in the shade 02 around midnight (12.8 lei). I didn’t try out the other colors from this line but I expect them to work the same.

 

What would you add to this list?

2 thoughts on “Drugstore Makeup Starter Kit – optional”

    1. Se aseamana la nivel de textura. Daca te referi la culoare, cu siguranta nu. Cel de la benefit are nuanta de sampanie, iar acesta este un roz deschis (nu se vede roz pe fata). Acum ca zici, cred ca produsele astea ar putea fi dupe daca as gasi o culoare asemanatoare cu Watt’s Up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

