Empty products #8

Versiunea în limba română a acestui articol o găsiți aici.

I realized that it’s necessary to start these types of articles with a description of the general state of my skin and hair during the period I used up the products mentioned below. This way you can have a better understanding why I liked or didn’t like some of them.

  • face: normal to dry and dehydrated skin
  • lips: normal to dry
  • body: very dry, itchy skin (I know, so sexy!)
  • hair: very long (it reaches the base of my back), fine, very straight, with greasy roots (needs washing every 2 days), a bit of split ends

Makeup

essence mascara, they're real mascara, AVON superSHOCK liner

essence multi-action volume mascara (7ml)

I really liked the cone wand on this mascara. It made it easier for me to reach the lashes from the inner corner of the eye. Other than that, it’s a good mascara, it defines the lashes and doesn’t flake or transfer under my eyes. With one coat, it gives a natural look, but it’s also a buildable mascara. Of course, it doesn’t have the same effect as they’re Real! from benefit (which I don’t want every time), but it was a pretty cheap product and it does the job. Also it was easily removable.

Repurchase: I think this was a LE one, so even if I wanted I couldn’t buy it again. But I am considering trying more mascaras from essence, as they seem to like my lashes and have very affordable prices. Which one(s) do you recommend?

benefit they’re Real! (3g)

Need I say more about this product? It’s something I have on hand every day since I first tried it, almost two years ago. Even though I think my favorite mascara of all time is Roller Lash from benefit, they’re Real! mini version is easier to find. If you want to read my opinion on this product you can check my older articles of empty products.

Repurchase: I already have a mini version as backup in my drawer.

AVON superSHOCK in Raw Plum

This eyeliner pencil has such a nice and buttery formula. It didn’t irritate my eyes and it was pretty longwearing. I also loved the color. The purple is darker and pretty intense. It makes your eyes look different, in a pretty way. Plus it costed 2-3 Euro.

Repurchase: Yes.

Skincare

bioderma, maybelline, palmer's

Bioderma Sensibio H2O Micellar Water (500ml)

I bought this huge bottle before I left Romania, so last year in July. I used it for taking off my makeup at night (combined with cream removers) and as a gentle refereshment in the morning, when I want to take off the night cream. It lasted me until the end of December, so I would say it really goes a long way. I spoke about it in other articles, so you already know I like how gentle it is on the skin and how it removes my makeup.

Repurchase: I already have a 250ml bottle on the go.

Maybelline Eye Make-up Remover Waterproof (125ml)

If you don’t know, this is a biphasic product which you need to shake before putting it on a cotton pad. I read so many good reviews about this remover that I decided to try it. But I’m not impressed. It didn’t manage to remove my eye makeup much better than Bioderma. I also don’t like that it leaves a bit of an oily film on my eyelids and the oil makes a bit of a noise while rubbed on the cotton pad, which I really hate.

Repurchase: No.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Lip Balm SPF15

I think this is my third one finished so far. I love it because it’s moisturising enough for my lips and it has SPF15 which is always great.

Repurchase: Yes, but not right now as I so many lip balms which I need to finish first before buying a new one.

Masks

Douglas, balea

Douglas Hair Ultimate Shine – mango, vitamin B5 and keratin – repair mask (25ml)

Because I have very long hair, I used this mask all at once. I put it in my hair one hour before washing it, then used regular shampoo, no conditioner, just to see if there are any results on my ends. I liked it. It actually made my hair shiny, it didn’t weigh it down and the ends didn’t get tangled up after washing and air drying my hair. All in all, I liked it.

Repurchase: Probably, but I would like to try different brands of hair masks, since this is a pretty unknown territory for me.

balea face mask raspberry&vanilla

It smells like the perfect fruity desert to me! I can feel very strongly the raspberry scent and I actually enjoyed it for the 10-15 min time I had it on. I can’t say that it did wonders to my skin, but it made it more hydrated. Unfortunately the effect isn’t long lasting.

Repurchase: Maybe if I see it on offer or I’m in the mood for the delicious smell.

Body skincare

Neutrogena, The Body Shop Moringa

Neutrogena Deep Moisture Oil in Lotion (250ml)

My skin was so dry in November, that I would put thick moisturizer on after showering and 12 hours later I would scratch my skin so badly that I would bleed. So I needed to take action. This lotion is thick and it has also oil in it, so exactly what I needed at that point. I was applying it at night, let it absorb into skin (it would take a few minutes because I would apply it quite heavily) and I wouldn’t need anymore extra hydration for about 24 hours. And so my skin got better and better. I finished it in about 2 months.

Repurchase: Already did, but in the original version, because I didn’t find this one when I went to DM.

The Body Shop Moringa Softening Body Milk (250ml)

I love this collection from The Body Shop. It’s my favorite scent from them. I liked that the lotion comes in a spray bottle and it’s easy to apply. It’s lightweight and perfect for me in summer, when my skin is normal.

Repurchase: Yes. But I will wait for the warmer months.

Hair

ACUM NovoPhane, Macadamia

ACM NovoPhane Energizing shampoo (200ml)

If I remember correctly, this is a transparent shampoo with a bit of pharmaceutical scent. So don’t expect any fruity, bubbly smells while showering. I didn’t mind it, because for me the scent was somewhat invigorating. I used it in rotation with other 2 shampoos so it lasted me since July until December. I liked how it washed my hair. It didn’t weigh it down, it didn’t suck out the moisture either and it left my scalp feeling fresh.

Repurchase: I don’t think I can find it in Germany, but if I find it in a store when I need shampoo, I would  buy it again.

Macadamia Rejuvenating Shampoo (100ml)

It says it’s a color safe, sulfate-free and paraben-free shampoo. It’s a hydrating shampoo and it smells nice. It does weigh down fine hair, but I still like it for when I need more moisture in my hair. It’s soft on the hair but it gets it clean. It leaves it shiny and kind of feeling light.

Repurchase: I will but in the small size (100ml), because I don’t use hydrating shampoos that often.

ogx, batiste

ogx renewing+ argan oil of morocco conditioner (88.7ml)

This was a bit too much for my fine hair. I used it mostly as a mask and I actually liked it more than as a conditioner.

Repurchase: No. It’s not for me. Maybe for someone with dry hair.

batiste Dry Shampoo coconut & exotic tropical (30g)

You probably already know how much I love this scent and the product itself. It makes my hair look and feel cleaner and it gives it a bit of texture. I won’t write more because I already talked about it in other articles.

Repurchase: Already did in the full version, but I also need to buy it in travel size.

PS: Don’t forget you can find me on Facebook (user: deirdrelestrange), Instagram (user: @notjustmakeup_) and e-mail.

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “Empty products #8

Leave a Reply

