The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops in Lightening

Versiunea în limba română a acestui articol o găsiți aici.

I have this product for more than 6 months now and I finially decided to make a review on it.

The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops in Lighetning review

The best way I can describe the texture is a very liquid foundation. Generally, I don’t feel that the drops are changing the original texture of the foundation. This is of course if you use a liquid foundation. If you use a more creamy or even moussey one, of course the texture will change. For me this is not a minus since I’m aware that if you mix a liquid formula with a creamy one, the whole mixture will be less thick than the texture of the creamy one.

I don’t feel like the longevity of the foundation is suffers. Most of the time I wear Benefit Hello Flawless mixed 1:1 with TBS Lightening Drops. I don’t see my foundation slipping of my face or my T zone getting more oily than usual. Of course, I think the longevity might be a bit compromised for long wearing foundations, which usually have a thicker consistency, but I don’t have any of those, so I can’t compare it.

TBS Lighetning Drops reviewTBS Lighetning Drops review - foundation swatches

The shade of these drops is not completely white. It has a very obvious pink undertone, which at start really scared me because I don’t like how cool foundations look on my skin. But since the most foundations which are darker than my skin color (most of drugstore foundations) are very yellow based, the pink undertone is actually a very good idea. It makes the foundation a lot more wearable on my neutral skin tone. Of course, the more drops you apply, the more pink the foundation is becoming.

Generally, the packaging is OK. It’s a 15 ml glass bottle with a pretty simple design, which I like. But the dropper simply doesn’t work! It works in complete reverse than how it should normally do. So, when you press the dropper, it pushes the product out, instead of sucking it in. And no, it’s not just mine. I heard many people complaining about the same problem. I would prefer to pay 2-3 euro more just so they can make a proper dropper for this product.
As a workaround, you can shake well the product before opening it and that way you push the product into the dropper where it gets stuck until you press it.

TBS Lighetning Drops reviewTBS Lighetning Drops review - foundation swatches

Another problem I have with the TBS Lightening Drops is that I’m usually a paranoid person when it comes to closing makeup. So I end up tightening the cap a bit more (but don’t imagine I close it too hard). I never had a problem with any other makeup product so far, but the cap on this one started a little bit to crack. Since then, I prefer to not tighten it how I used too, but that makes me very nervous when I need to travel with it. The product didn’t leak so far, but I think, again, they could invest more in the functional part of the packaging.

TBS Lighetning Drops reviewTBS Lighetning Drops review - foundation swatches

The 15 ml will last you a pretty long while, but of course it depends on how many drops you use on each application. The expiration date is 12 months from opening, which I find a decent amount of time, considering you’re exposing the product to air every time you want to use it. I’m past a bit more than half of the bottle and I think I will manage to finish it just in time, before the expiration date.

TBS Lighetning Drops reviewTBS Lighetning Drops review - foundation swatches

Price: 14 €

Foundations from pictures:

  • Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow in “I’m pure 4 sure” Ivory
  • Rimmel Match Perfection in 100 Ivory
  • Catrice Nude Illusion Make Up in 015 Nude Vanilla
  • La Roche-Posay Toleriane in 10

Conclusion:

For a person with very fair skin, who can never find the right shade, especially at the drugstore, this is an amazing product. It has some minuses, but I can overlook them for now and I hope that The Body Shop will do something about it.

Did you try The Body Shop Lighetening Drops? Do you like them?

PS: Don’t forget you can find me on Facebook (user: deirdrelestrange), Instagram (user: @notjustmakeup_) and e-mail.

Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops in Lightening”

Leave a Reply

