Anti-Haul #1

Versiunea în limba română a acestui articol o găsiți aici.

If you don’t know what this article is about, please go and watch this video. I think Kimberly Clark was the person who invented this type of video (don’t quote me on that. I didn’t do much research about it). I really like the idea because we always get “bombarded” with new products that claim they’re the best you’ve ever seen. My intention is this article you’re reading right now, to be the first of my new category. I think it will make people a bit more aware of what they’re actually spending their money on or if they should do it at all.

Also, please don’t get me wrong! If you own any of the products/ brands named below, don’t get offended. I just don’t think they would be something I need at the moment.

 

LORAC Pirates of the Caribbean Collection

You know how much I love the Pro Palette from LORAC. I think it’s a great quality product, it has awesome shades and it’s totally worth the money. Because of that I am inclined to buy more of their products. The only thing that’s stopping me is that they don’t sell them in Europe and I would have to order them through amazon.

That being said and even though the packaging is amazing for this collection, I still have a few issues with it:

  1. I don’t usually like limited edition stuff, especially, in high end brands. Why are they doing that? I can get limited edition packaging, but why shades and formulas?
  2. I don’t like collections related to movies and/ or celebrities (I’m looking at you MAC and Urban Decay). I think it’s just marketing and they’re trying to use each other to get more people involved in their products. And often times both of them (celebrity/movie vs. beauty product) are poor quality. I’m not necessarily saying it’s the case here, because I didn’t hear any reviews on them, but I don’t even want to find out
  3. the colors are not something I would normally wear
  4. the packaging is too big and chunky so I would get annoyed using it

Price: eyeshadow palette $52, blush palette $30 and MOD lip cream duo $26 each

too faced sweet peach collection
via glamour.com

Too Faced Sweet Peach Collection

The first reason from the Pirates of the Caribbean collection applies here as well. Even more, I don’t like the packaging at all. It’s too girly for me, too colorful. And I dislike that it has a scent. I know everybody’s crazy about Too Faced having scented palettes but for me it’s exactly the opposite. That’s the main reason why I don’t own their Chocolate Bar palette, even though people still rave about it. Also, the color selection from the Sweet Peach collection doesn’t attract me in any way.

Price: eyeshadow palette $49

maybelline dream cushion liquid foundation
via maybelline.com

Maybelline Dream Cushion Liquid Foundation

 

Or any other drugstore cushion foundation. I already know the lightest shade is way too dark for me. I’m only interested in trying such products from korean brands. The ones in western drugstores are so expensive and there’s no way I would ever pay such amount of money for them. From what I know the Koreans started this trend and they usually have skincare properties in their foundations, which is always a plus for me.

Price: 11,95

Highlighter palettes

 

I’m not a makeup artist, I don’t do editorials and I wouldn’t use such products. I already have a few highlighters with different formulas (cream, powder and cream-to-powder) and different shades of beige and pink. I actually want one more highlighter which should have white tone. Other than that, I think a palette is too much for me, even if I’m a blogger and I like to play around with products. I don’t need green, blue or rainbow shades for my highlighter.

I would like to finish this article with a saying from Kimberly Clark: I don’t need it and I’m not gonna buy it!

PS: Don’t forget you can find me on Facebook (user: deirdrelestrange), Instagram (user: @notjustmakeup_) and e-mail.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

